AANI Elects IGP Abubakar President, Usman Publicity Secretary

AANI Elects IGP Abubakar President, Usman Publicity Secretary

By: Amina Samuel

The Alumni Association of National Institute (AANI) during it's 41st Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Abuja over the weekend elected IGP Mohammed Dikko Abubakar (rtd) as it's new President.

The election took place at the International Conference Center, where former Director of Army Public Relations, Brig. Gen. Sani Kukasheka Usman (rtd) was also elected the Publicity Secretary alongside other executive members.

According to Usman, the election was hitch-free but was keenly competed. 

"It was a hitch-free election but keenly competed. The President, IGP Mohammed Dikko Abubakar (rtd) was returned unopposed"

Other executive members elected in the keen contest are; Ambassador Emmanuel Obi mni (Vice President), Alhaji Abubakar Ismaila, (General Secretary), Dr. Kayode Moses Babatunde, mni (Assistant General Secretary), Bar. Kemi Olomola-Sijuwade mni, (Legal Adviser), Dr. Asheikh Maidugu of the Federal Inland Revenue Services (Financial Secretary) and Mr. Salawu Zubairu (Internal Auditor). Alhaji Ismail Umar Sifawa mni and Chief (Mrs) Love Ezema mni were elected unopposed as Treasurer and Welfare/Social Officer, respectively. 

According to Usman, the last two years for AANI were very challenging. He said that the association lost some of its members adding that the COVID-19 pandemic, impacted negatively on it. 

Usman however reeled out AANI's positive achievements during the pandemic to include taking the advantage to assisting the less privileged in the society, in addition to registering AANI Cooperative Society, for members' benefit. 

He described the AANI 41st AGM as one with the highest turnout of members since its inception. 

According to him "Minutes of the 40th meeting were deliberated upon and adopted. Similarly, various Executive Committee members and the Auditors presented reports to congress for consideration and adoption before the EXCO dissolution. After that, the meeting nominated an Electoral Committee, headed by Engineer Jani Ibrahim mni, for a general election. 

"The 41st AANI AGM was well attended as we had in attendance members of Senior Executive Course (SEC) 7, 8, 9 and 10 who drew thunderous standing ovations in attendance"

During his inaugural address, after the inauguration of the new EXCO, the President, IGP Abubakar (rtd) thanked all members for the confidence reposed in him and the new EXCO promising to commence work in earnest and assuring members of a high-quality leadership towards a better society.

The President also thanked Nigerians and the media for their immense support and assured that AANI would continue to work towards a better society in Nigeria. 

AANI members who attended both the AGM and General Election were professionals from different callings and endeavours across the country.

Some of the attendees were His Eminence, Alhaji Sa'ad Abubakar III, the Sultan of Sokoto, represented by Alhaji Usman Bello Kankara, Kanwan Katsina II, the District Head of Ketare, the Inspector General of Police, Mohammed A. Adamu NPM mni, ably represented by Deputy Inspector General of Police David Folawiyo mni, the Acting Director-General of the National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies (NIPSS), Brigadier General CU Udaya (rtd) mni, Dr Pat Eze MON mni, Comrade Ayuba Wabba mni and Comrade Isa Aremu mni, among others.

What's Your Reaction?